Runners Delight – The Cape Town Edition

There are few places more aesthetically delightful than the city that sits in the shadow of Table Mountain and False Bay. Perhaps it is the unbroken thread of ocean and mountain in such close connection that makes it so. Almost at the very tip of Africa the Mother City quietly lies. Its beauty undeniable.

I once heard that whatever angle you gaze upon the Mona Lisa from, her eyes will find  and follow you.  Cape Town has its own version of that serene lady, but her version sits gazing royally from above.  Almost everywhere you are in this fair city, her mountain follows.

I was recently at the Breakwater Lodge and decided to head down to the gym for a workout.  The room was equipped with two squeaky treadmills one of which was already in use so I made towards the cross-trainer and while trying to figure it out I happened to glance out the window, the clear day called and I decided to pound the pavement instead.

Best decision ever.

It was a ridiculously beautiful day.  Brilliant sunshine and crisp morning air rolled into one.  A day designed for the run. I took a right outside the gate of the lodge and headed towards the Waterfront, the thought of running by the water felt right to me.

Down Granger road and when I turned up to the left I found a running marker.

Providence indeed. Turns out the Waterfront was not just about emptying my pockets, they were committed to helping me find my way in a foreign land.

IMG_7039

 

With the  Atlantic looking impossibly blue and Robben Island peeking out from the horizon as I ran past the Lookout, the day couldn’t get any better.

IMG_7022-new

Then I rounded the corner and unexpectedly there she was.

Table Mountain.

I thought that run would be all about ocean views, but mother mountain is always watching. Patient. Grand. Beautiful.

 

The rest of it was a dream, past the agapanthus and under the acacias, across the Watershed, up towards the city, sharply back to the pier and past the One and Only.

 

Even at the pier she followed me still. If I didn’t have to get to work I surely would have just kept on going.

IMG_7057

 

I guess all good things must come to an end. But its the unexpected purely joyful moments like this that work to keep me Optimistic.

IMG_7072

 

 

 

7 comments

  1. I love Cape Town! Looks like a gorgeous place to run. Thanks for bringing back some memories!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jane! Hands down one of my favourite places in the world. To experience it in a new way was such fun.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You did the right thing by looking out of the window!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad I did !

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Giving me syke to get back to running. It’s about time anyway. Asante dada!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. cape town looks great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is literally ridiculously beautiful!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

